Abdullah Green
2 min readMar 23, 2020

--

A week ago I visited a friend outside Prague and stayed at his place overnight. When I came back to Prague the next morning, I noticed something weird on the bus I took, metro, and streets. Everybody was wearing masks. Like EVERYBODY. And they were all looking at me like at a crazy idiot.

When I entered home, my flatmate explained the situation: “yesterday evening Czech government ordered everybody to wear masks in public.” Since then I have been trying to be a law abiding citizen [see photo].

This virus spread across the world unbelievably quickly. The number of infected people double every 6 days. Today in the world there’re some 300,000 people infected with koronavirus. Next week there likely to be 600,000 cases. The week after — more than 1 million humans! And nobody knows when this is going to stop.

Some analysts estimate that by the end of this year 80% of world population will be infected. It sounds too extreme. 80% of world population is some 6 billion people. With 3.5% death rate… that means 200 million people die by winter. This is so insane that seems impossible. But last month we also thought it would be impossible that 400 people would be dying EVERYDAY only in Italy because of the koronavirus. We turned out to be wrong. Anything can happen.

--

--

Abdullah Green

IT Project Manager at Amazon. Educated in Czechia and England. Enthusiastic about Business, Islam, and Technologies. Currently living in Prague.