Moderate Love

Abdullah Green
1 min readJul 22, 2020

I cannot become close with everybody. I mean, I love my people, my friends, my family — I love them and I will always do my best to support them in every possible way. But it is very difficult for me to let somebody close to me. I don’t know why I am this way. Maybe it is just my natural character. I don’t know if it is good or bad, but this is just the truth, this is who I am.

There are some narrations from our Prophet (peace be upon him) where he says “Love your beloved moderately, perhaps he becomes hated to you someday. And hate whom you hate moderately, perhaps he becomes your beloved someday (hasan)” (Jami` at-Tirmidhi 1997).

So, maybe it is correct to love people moderately. My humble experience shows that almost every relationship is temporary. People in your life will stay with you until a certain time. Almost every relationship, friendship, brotherhood, has good times and bad times.

This may sound a little pessimistic, but this is just the reality of our lives. Everything is temporary. Except Allah. He is Eternal, Ever-Living. The Most Merciful. The Ever-Forgiving.

--

--

Abdullah Green

IT Project Manager at Amazon. Educated in Czechia and England. Enthusiastic about Business, Islam, and Technologies. Currently living in Prague.