Since beginning of quarantine, I put on 4 kilos of weight

Abdullah Green
2 min readApr 8, 2020

We prayed Ishaa with only six brothers who came to the mosque. After finishing sunnah prayers, everybody was headed to exit the building. On the side of the corridor I noticed scales. “Hmm… let me just…” and I hopped on them.

When I looked at what the scales were showing me, I thought the scales must be broken. “Hal haathal meethaan saheeh? [Are these scales right?]” I asked a brother. He said “Na’am [Yes]”.

My weight was always the same for the past 3 years. However, since the beginning of the quarantine I apparently put on 4 more kilos of weight [4 weeks = 4 kilos].

I am not sure whether it is good news or bad news [maybe you can tell me whether it is good or bad]. My flatmate always says that I am skinny. I tell him “It is better to be skinny and healthy rather than obese”. But hey… I don’t consider myself skinny. As far as I am concerned, my weight is just right. [You’re supposed to smile here, because this was supposed to be a joke].

Maybe this is an issue that many people nowadays are having because of the quarantine and stay-at-home policy. We are not MOVING much. I don’t know about you, but being home whole days, I tend to eat more than usual too.

I was used to going to the gym 2–3 times a week before the quarantine. I hope this whole thing will be over soon and I will resume my exercises. Otherwise, I will get so fat that you won’t recognize me after we all go back to our normal lives 😉

--

--

Abdullah Green

IT Project Manager at Amazon. Educated in Czechia and England. Enthusiastic about Business, Islam, and Technologies. Currently living in Prague.