There are two ways to build long-term relationship

Abdullah Green
2 min readAug 1, 2020

Raising children and family is a topic that is really not my cup of tea. When it comes to family, I have been a total failure so far. So Abdullah Green is the last person you want to get marital advice from.

In my DM I got a few comments on my previous post, though — particularly about the part where I wrote about how I want to raise my daughters and sons in Islamic society. That’s why I would like to clarify here that this is just my own beliefs. I don’t necessarily claim that they are all correct and “this is how YOU have to raise your kids!” [I would be a total idiot if I tried to impose my own views on somebody].

All I am doing here [on my blog] is sharing my thoughts for people who are actually interested in my piece of writings. Nothing else. So here is my little thought on raising children:

Building relationship with your kid is almost like building long-term relationship with your employee at work.

There is two ways for that:

  1. Either you treat him like crap, emphasising on his mistakes, telling him how miserable he is. Eventually, he believes you, becomes psychologically insecure, and does what you want him to do.
  2. Or you praise him, reminding him of his strengths, help him grow, help him achieve his goals. Eventually, he will genuinely love you and will do his best not to let you down.

I have experienced both types of parenting. And the “results” of the second way…

--

--

Abdullah Green

IT Project Manager at Amazon. Educated in Czechia and England. Enthusiastic about Business, Islam, and Technologies. Currently living in Prague.