What Is a Real Friendship?

Abdullah Green
1 min readAug 7, 2020

I was standing outside the restaurant, with my phone in my hands, looking down at the screen, and typing something.

I sensed somebody approaching me, so I lifted my eyes. It was my friend, smiling at me with his eyes, ready to greet me.

We entered the cafe, sat down at a table.

“How are you feeling now that you’re leaving Czechia?” he asked me with low tone of voice, as if asking something really important [we have been friends here for almost 5 years].

He was curious, because he understands that he will have to leave this country some day too. But at the moment he cannot leave his job in Prague and go back to Uzbekistan [where there is much worse economical situation]. Needless to say, it is even more difficult to move to another country when he has a family here.

“To be honest, at this point I am feeling nothing,” I said genuinely. “Maybe it will kick in once I will be at the airport.”

We talked for about an hour. I could feel he is one of my few friends who will genuinely miss me when I am gone [just like I will be missing him].

Maybe this is a sign of a “real loving friendship”: when you miss them when they are gone.

--

--

Abdullah Green

IT Project Manager at Amazon. Educated in Czechia and England. Enthusiastic about Business, Islam, and Technologies. Currently living in Prague.